13 Quick Thoughts About The iPhone 6 Plus

You wouldn't like the iPhone 6 Plus when it gets angry.

You wouldn’t like the iPhone 6 Plus when it gets angry.

Because social media and mobile technology are so well connected and because I didn’t want to post a long thing on Facebook, here are some quick thoughts from my own use of my new iPhone 6 Plus.  Most of these are answers to questions I’ve been asked.  If you have some questions, fire away.

  1. Yes, it’s big.  When you put it next to an older model iPhone it seems gigantic. Shockingly, once you start using it away from your old phone it does seem a bit bigger but not much.  I believe a similar technique will be used to shrink Paul Rudd in the Ant-Man movie.
  2. Yes, it fits in my pocket.  Both my jeans pocket (but I don’t wear skinny jeans because a-I’m not skinny and b-ew) and my shirt pocket.  When it sits in my shirt pocket the top bit including the camera does stick out so it might concern people that I’m filming them as I walk by.  Which I’m not.  Probably.
  3. I have no idea if it fits in a suit jacket pocket.  What’s a suit jacket?  I live in Austin and I’m in-house counsel.  That means I’m forbidden by two sets of laws to wear a suit.  Same with this sports coat people mention.
  4. Yes, I can use it one handed.  And that’s without doing the double tap to bring the top stuff down to the bottom, although that helps too.  I don’t know if it’s because I have large hands (I never thought I did) or if it’s because I grew up playing arcade games in the 80s (which required you to dislocate three fingers to play Defender for more than 3 levels–and don’t get me started on my finger speed thanks to Track & Field).  Either way, I can use it just fine with one hand.  A bit slower than the iPhone 5 but that could be the size or just getting used to it.
  5. Set up was super easy.  Maybe it’s because I’m used to switching Apple phones, but the old back-up with encryption (to keep your passwords) and restore from backup worked flawlessly.  I did have a slight hiccup getting the phone to active (you have to call an 866 number for AT&T) and then there was a weird iMessage bug (solved by turning iMessage off and back on, IT Crowd for the win!).
  6. It’s actually faster to use with two hands.  I didn’t think about this but maybe it does show my hands are that big.  I was never able to use my previous iPhones with two hands.  My hands just got in the way–at least to make it any faster than using it one handed.  But now there is plenty of room to navigate so I can move faster with two hands typing.  That’s pretty neat.
  7. The predictive keyboard is very cool.  Having a few options available is nice and it seems to make that damn autocorrect less intrusive.  I hope this doesn’t mean Damn You Autocorrect is going away because those are the best.  My favorite feature–if someone sends you a message with two options (e.g., “This or that?”) then without typing a character the predictive keyboard will give you the choice of “This” or “That.”  Nice touch.
  8. Jitterbug mode sucks, will hopefully improve over time.  You know Jitterbug, the smart phone for “aging Americans?”   Using an iPhone app that hasn’t been redesigned for the 6 Plus’ screen feels a bit like using an app on Jitterbug.  Suddenly everything is blown up to silly levels as iOS scales the apps to fill the space rather than give a big black border like the first iPads did.  My Good For Enterprise app still shows 3.5 emails on the Inbox view only now each one is massive.  Compare that to the native Mail app that shows 6.5 in highly legible type.  I know it’s just a matter of time before the main apps I use update (Good, Facebook, Twitter, etc.) but that can’t come fast enough.
  9. The battery rocks.  This may be a combination of leaving autobrightness on (which works much better than it did with my 5–I constantly had it on brightest mode for most of the day) but I noticed it yesterday when I cranked the brightness as well (before realizing I didn’t need to).  Right now my battery is sitting at 75%.  I’ve had typical usage of it today, perhaps a bit less than others.  But on most days my iPhone 5 would be at 20%-30% by the end of lunch.  75% is amazing.
  10. I still haven’t played with the camera.  I look forward to having fun with slow motion and burst photos and all that, but I’m not a good photographer and I take pictures when needed.  Like if there’s a funny sign.
  11. Native HD screen rocks!  The biggest draw for the Plus over the basic 6 was, for me, the native HD screen.  This screen has all the pixels of a 1080p video stream.  Every other phone has to squeeze it down a bit.  Every other iPad with more pixels is just stretching the image out.  This is fantastic for someone like me who only uses my iPad to watch movies and read comics.  Now I don’t need that for movies (and I’m hoping Comixology gives us full page view on the 6 Plus soon).  I watched some Netflix on it last night and that was awesome.  Holding a 5.5″ screen a foot away from my eyes seems larger than my living room TV which is 57″ but ten feet away.
  12. I’m hopeful this is my iPad replacement.  I don’t like travelling with two devices or having some games/apps on my iPad while my essential stuff is on my iPhone.  My goal is for this device to replace my old phone (check) and my iPad (let’s see, but so far so good).
  13. There is no item 13.  But congrats on making it to the end.
2 Comments

Filed under Apple, Email, Facebook, Technology, Twitter

2 responses to “13 Quick Thoughts About The iPhone 6 Plus

  1. Pingback: iPhone 6 vs HTC One (M8) - Quick Look | AnjumsList

  2. Pingback: My Awesome Announcement | SoMeLaw Thoughts

Leave a Reply

