Learning From Social Media Mistakes

 

Wait. I did that?

A few weeks ago USAirways tweeted out an offensive image in response to a customer.  I’m not going to link it.  You either know the story already or you don’t need to see the image (and it’s easy enough to google it yourself).  Mistakes will always happen on the job and sometimes they happen in a public venue like a Twitter account.

I thought the response issued by the internal US Airways newsletter (which is available publicly) was so outstanding that I’m just pasting a picture of their newsletter article.  I wish they hadn’t buried it at the end of the newsletter but I applaud how it was handled and addressed.  Other companies could learn a lot by how this embarrassing mistake was handled.

USAirways

Leave a comment

Filed under Informal Tone, Quick Updates, Social Content, Social Media Risks, Twitter

Leave a comment